Bottom Paint?

General repair/maintenance/upgrade information exchange.

Bottom Paint?

Postby gofast24 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:08 am

Question to something I have no experience with, bottom paint.
When the vessel was dry docked 4 years ago the surveyor indicated the bottom paint was in good shape. Not sure if the previous owner had it re done or not? I am In the process of having the boat dry docked to pressure wash the hull, remove/get port prop fixed (minor ding in one blade) , and while out have the hull re painted with bottom paint if required.
So, questions =
1) What is the "best" bottom paint to use (will stay with black as currently in place) Looking for the best to use as saving a few dollars on the paint just comes back to haunt you in the near future, the labor is about as much as the cost of the paint.
2) If after pressure washing the bottom the current bottom paint is good? should I just leave it alone?
3) Our fresh water lake is really clean and virtually no barnacles etc., from experience with our dock mates who have not had their bottom cleaned and re painted for more than 5/6 years they dont have any problems.
4) Our current problem is we are loosing about 4 to 5 knots (OK, 5-7 MPH) at WOT and assume it is the hull crud, the 2X Inboard VP 420 HP engines are running great! No loss of RPM at WOT, just loss of vessel speed.
5) Is bottom paint applied with a roller or sprayed on (guess it depends on the type of paint used)?

Appreciate any thoughts/comments you guys might have!

Thanks
gofast24
2001 Regal 4160
Twin VP 8.1GSiI V Drive Inboards
Lake Lanier, GA
gofast24

Re: Bottom Paint?

Postby Chris_in_Texas » Tue Apr 03, 2018 7:13 am